Eurobonds market rules

Eurobonds are bonds which are often issued in several European countries simultaneously.

Eurobonds are bonds which are often issued in several European countries simultaneously. Issuers are often large international institutions, companies, and sometimes public authorities. The prefix "Euro" simply refers to the bond's location of issue (Europe). It does not refer to the nationality of its issuer or the currency of issue. A Eurobond can therefore very easily be issued by a Japanese company in US Dollars.

Alongside the Eurobonds market, the national or domestic bond market also exists. These bonds are only issued in the country of their issuer, e.g. a bond for General Motors would be issued in the US. Keytrade Bank negotiates exclusively in Eurobonds.


Issuing bonds (primary market)

An issuer such as a multinational wishing to issue bonds in order to raise finance for its company will contact a specialist banker who will take care of all the necessary formalities. Furthermore, a certain number of factors need to be defined. The most important of these are: the bond's issue size, period, currency, coupon and subscription price.

  • Issue size: this is the total amount that the issuer would like to raise on the primary bond market. A routine issue size on the Eurobonds market would be EUR 100 million.
  • The life span of the bond is determined by the issuer. This period more often than not varies between 3 and 10 years.
  • Currency: although most bonds are issued in euros, a Eurobond can actually be issued in any currency that exists.
  • Coupon: the periodic interest (often paid annually) that the investor will receive on the nominal value of the investment.
  • Subscription price: a percentage of the nominal value; the bond is issued against this percentage on the primary market.

For example: General Motors wishes to issue a Eurobond. It will be agreed with the investment banker that the issue on the primary market will have the following characteristics:

  • Issue size: EUR 150,000,000
  • Life span: 7 years
  • Currency: Euro
  • Coupon: 5.25%
  • Issue price: 101%

During a defined period called the subscription period (which often lasts 4-6 weeks) investors can sign up to the bond issued by General Motors (subscription on primary market). For a nominal investment of EUR 10,000, the investor will have to pay EUR 10,100 (101%). Every year for 7 years, this bond will yield a return of EUR 525 (5.25% of EUR 10,000) on the coupon date, before deductions are made for withholding tax. On the maturity date (after 7 years) the investor will be paid back the EUR 10,000 capital investment.


The secondary Eurobonds market.

Once the subscription period for the bond issue has closed, it is no longer possible to sign up for the bond at the original price. The bond is then no longer listed on the "primary market".

This does not mean that an interested investor has missed their chance to buy the bond.

The day after the subscription period closes, the bond issue in fact moves from the primary market to the secondary market.

The secondary Eurobonds market is simply a market for existing bonds. Buyers and sellers are continuously active on this market.

This is why market pricing constantly comes into play. An investor who buys a bond on the primary market can in principle always sell it on the secondary market. An active investor can go to the secondary market to acquire bonds listed at very attractive prices.

Contrary to the situation on the equity markets, the majority of trades in Eurobonds take place directly between professionals such as bankers or stockbrokers, etc. rather than via stock exchanges.

Though Eurobonds are often listed on the stock markets (mostly on the Luxembourg stock exchange), the majority of trades are carried out "over-the-counter" (between professionals) for reasons of limited liquidity. This means that unlike the stock markets, the Eurobonds market is a true professionals' market.

Keytrade Bank offers its customers access to this secondary professionals' market via its Eurobonds trading platform.


The basics of investing in Eurobonds

Why should I invest in bonds? How secure is an investment in bonds? How can I choose a good bond, and what do I need to look out for?

We have tried to provide answers to these questions in the points that follow. We hope they will help you to understand some of the introductory principles of investing in bonds.

The conflict between risk and return

Naturally, every investor is always looking for that impossible combination of "high level of security" and "high yield" for all of their investments. But unfortunately, security rarely equates with a high return. A high return is more often than not coupled with a high level of risk. This universal rule applies throughout the financial world, and this includes on the bond market.

  • Quality and rating The quality of the issuer is often expressed through its rating, which gives an indication of its level of solvency. The following question then arises: how can the bondholder (the investor) be sure that the issuer will honour all of his commitments? In addition to making regular interest payments, the issuer must be in a position to repay the nominal value of the bond upon maturity. There are several rating agencies all pursuing the same objective, which is to assess the solvency of issuers on the bond market. The most well known of these are Standard & Poors (S&P) and Moody'sFollowing an in-depth analysis of the issuers, these agencies award them a credit rating, which is an indication of the issuers' level of solvency.
empty-headerempty-header
Standard & Poor's
Moody's
AAA
Aaa
AA
Aa1 - Aa3
A
A1 - A3
BBB
Baa1 - Baa3
BB
Ba1 - Ba3
B
B1 - B3
CCC
Caa1 - Caa3
CC
Ca
C
C
D
N.R.
NR
Plus (+) or minus (-)
r

An AAA rating awarded to an issuer by Standard & Poors is an indication that this issuer is very solvent indeed. The equivalent of the S&P AAA rating is the Aaa rating from Moody's. Bonds with a rating of lower than BBB (S&P classification) or Baa3 (Moody's classification) are generally considered to be speculative grade bonds.

Of course, a bond issued by a very good debtor (with a high rating such as AA or A2) will produce a lower yield than a bond with the same characteristics but whose issuer is in financial difficulty and consequently has a rating of B or B2, for example.

So it is essential to always pay attention to the ratings given to bonds when comparing their yields.

  • Life span In normal market circumstances, a long-term bond offers a higher yield than a short-term bond. However, a long-term bond is inherently riskier than a short-term bond, since one can never predict the future. The likelihood that the issuer will fail is obviously greater over a longer period of time compared to a short period.
  • Currency Certain bonds can present a very attractive yield to the investor without there necessarily being any link to a bad debtor. The reason for this could simply be that the bond was issued in a high-yield currency. Yet it must not be forgotten that exchange rates change and that therefore, a risk is present. If you do not wish to take any risks at all, you should only invest in euros. The yield of a bond issued in euros may be smaller than those issued in certain other currencies (e.g. the Hungarian Forint), but you will not incur any foreign exchange risk. If you would prefer to speculate, for example on the rise of the US Dollar, it would be a worthwhile investment to buy bonds in US Dollars.
  • Interest rate and coupon The coupon is the periodic payment of interest that you receive as the holder of bonds. Ordinarily, Eurobonds pay a fixed annual coupon, but twice-yearly or quarterly coupon payments are also possible.The coupon amount is obtained by multiplying the nominal interest rate by the nominal value of the bond.For example: A bond has a nominal interest rate of 5.25% per annum. An investor buys EUR 10,000 at a cost of EUR 10,400. Every year, this investor will receive a coupon amounting to 5.25% of EUR 10,000: 5.25% x 10,000 = EUR 525.As well as fixed rate bonds, there are also floating rate bonds. The interest rate for these bonds is modified periodically throughout the life span of the bond, and is often adjusted quarterly. These floating interest rates are often linked to a benchmark rate such as the Euribor rate. In the jargon, these bonds are often also called "Floating Rate Notes".For example: a "Floating Rate Note" has a life span of 4 years and pays a quarterly coupon linked to the 3 month Euribor rate + 0.50%..A type of bond also exists that we call "zero-coupon bonds" or "zero bonds". As their name would suggest, these bonds do not pay periodic coupons. But this definitely does not mean that a zero bond is not a worthwhile investment. The main feature of a zero bond is that this bond is issued "under par value". This means that if an investor buys a zero bond, he/she will pay less than the bond repayment amount. The investor's profit is constituted by the difference between the bond repayment (often 100% of the nominal value) and the price the investor paid.For example: a zero bond has a life span of 5 years and is listed at 75%. The repayment is for 100%. The investor will receive no coupons for 5 years, but his/her investment of 75% will be repaid at a rate of 100% after 5 years.
  • Price and yield In the example cited above, the investor receives an annual coupon of 5.25%. This coupon is calculated against the nominal value of the bond he/she bought (EUR 10,000), not the price paid (EUR 10,400).As a consequence, the yield the investor obtains on the investment is less than 5.25%! The investor's "direct yield" only amounts to 525/10,400 = 5.05%. Thus we can say that the higher the price of the bond, the lower the yield it deliversProfessional investors almost never refer to the idea of direct yield, but instead to what we call the "actuarial yield".The actuarial yield is the annual yield of a bond which not only takes into account the coupon, but also other aspects such as coupon date, maturity date, current price and the bond repayment. We will return to the example given above. Let us assume that the investor bought this bond just one year before its maturity date. The buyer would have paid 104% (EUR 10,400 for a nominal value of EUR 10,000) and will receive a 100% repayment (EUR 10,000) after one year. After one year, the investor does the accounts: he/she will receive a coupon of 5.25%, but will lose 4% of the investment (which was bought at 104% but is repaid at 100%). The investor's net yield, therefore, is only 1.25%. We will now imagine that the investor bought the bond two years before its maturity date, again at 104% of its value. At the end of this period, the investor calculates the yield again: he/she receives 2 coupons of 5.25%, so 10.50%, and loses 4% of the investment. After two years, the net yield achieved is 10.50% - 4% = 6.50%, so approximately 3.25% per year.This method of calculating the yield produces a more precise picture of the actual yield of an investment in a bond than the simple direct yield idea. Professionals calculate this actual yield using the techniques of actuarial mathematics (the example above has been simplified considerably)! This is why we use the term "actuarial yield".
  • Particular forms of repayment Generally, the majority of bonds are repaid in cash equivalent to their nominal value. However, this is not always the case. Some bonds are automatically repaid in stock, and in other cases, the investor has the choice of receiving payment at maturity in stock or in cash. Another possible scenario is that the bond repayment is linked to a stock market index.
  • Guarantees/hierarchy It is generally recognised that bonds are reasonably safe investments. The risk of non-repayment of a bond issued by a good debtor is fairly low. Should an issuer face bankruptcy, the creditors of this issuer will be repaid in a particular order. Certain priority lenders will be repaid in the first instance (e.g. the government, mortgage lenders, etc.) Unsecured creditors are repaid next (the majority of bondholders fall into this category). The final group of creditors is then paid. These include shareholders, holders of subordinated bonds, and so on. Before purchasing a bond, it is therefore crucial that the guarantees and hierarchy of commitments in the event of bankruptcy are established in advance.
    • Guarantees :
      • Unlike secured bonds, unsecured bonds are issued without offering any specific guarantee.
      • In the case of multinational companies, bonds issued are often guaranteed by the parent company (called the "company guarantee", or "bank guarantee" in the case of a banking group)
      • Some bonds issued are "asset backed". This means that a specific fund is ring-fenced in order to guarantee repayment of the bond.
    • Hierarchy:
      • In the event of bankruptcy, a subordinated bond is paid after all the other bondholders, directly before the shareholders are paid.
      • A "senior bond" is a common form of bond situated above the bottom of the hierarchy, meaning it is more secure than an unsecured bond.
  • Interest due The majority of Eurobonds pay an annual coupon. In principle, the investor receives 1/365 of this annual coupon for every day he/she holds a bond.We will now imagine that the investor buys a bond on a secondary market, and that the bond's annual coupon will be paid in 7 months. In other words, 5 months have passed since the last coupon was paid. The bond has therefore already produced interest over 5 months. This interest is due to the seller of the bond, and must therefore be paid by the buyer of the bond. The buyer will receive the entirety of the coupon on its payment date (in the next 7 months).The interest due is calculated by applying a fraction to the coupon amount, as follows: the fraction numerator is equal to the number of days' interest due, and the denominator equals the number of days in one year. This fraction (also called the "accrual basis") may vary from one bond to another. The most common types of accrual basis are :
    • ACT/ACT : the numerator is equal to the number of effective days between the date of the last coupon payment and its settlement date. The denominator is the number of effective days in one year (365 or 366).
    • ACT/360 : the numerator is equal to the number of effective days between the date of the last coupon payment and its settlement date. The denominator is set on the basis of 360 days.
    • 30/360 : it is agreed that every month contains 30 days
    For example: A bond has the following characteristics :
    • Its last coupon was paid on 23 February 2003
    • The annual coupon is 6%
    • The accrual basis used is ACT/ACT
    An investor buys EUR 10,000 of this bond with a settlement date of 19 September 2003. The exact number of days between 23 February 2003 and 19 September 2003 is 208. The seller of this bond is therefore entitled to 6% x 10,000 x 208/365 = EUR 341.92 in payable interest. The buyer will therefore have to pay this sum to the seller. The buyer will receive the entirety of the coupon on 23 February 2004 (the date of the following coupon payment).

By accepting our use of cookies, you allow us to improve your experience on our website, so that it is faster, more personalised and more secure. You can change the cookie settings in your browser at any time. Find out more about cookies.

Le marché Euro-obligataire: Principes de base

Les Euro-obligations (aussi appelée Eurobonds) sont des obligations qui sont souvent émises en même temps dans plusieurs pays européens.

Les Euro-obligations (aussi appelée Eurobonds) sont des obligations qui sont souvent émises en même temps dans plusieurs pays européens. Les émetteurs sont souvent de grandes institutions internationales, des entreprises ou parfois les autorités publiques. Le préfixe "euro" se réfère uniquement à l'endroit d'où l'obligation a été émise (en Europe) et non à la nationalité de l'émetteur ou à la devise de l'émission. Une Euro-obligation peut donc parfaitement être émise par une entreprise japonaise en dollars US.

A côté du "marché des euro-obligations" il existe le marché des obligations nationales appelé aussi obligations "domestic". Ce sont des obligations qui sont uniquement émises dans le seul pays de l'émetteur. (par ex. : un emprunt obligataire de General Motor émis aux Etat-Unis). Keytrade Bank négocie uniquement des Euro-obligations.


L'émission d'obligations ("marché primaire")

Un émetteur (par ex. une multinationale) qui dans le cadre du financement de son entreprise souhaite lever un emprunt obligataire, va s'adresser à un banquier spécialisé qui réglera toutes les formalités de l'émission. De plus, il faut répondre à un certain nombre de paramètres dont les plus importants sont : le montant de l'émission, la durée, la devise, le coupon et le prix de souscription.

  • Le montant de l'émission (issue size): est le montant total que l'émetteur souhaite lever sur le marché obligataire primaire. Un "issue size" habituel sur le marché des eurobonds est de 100 millions d'Euros.
  • La durée de vie de l'obligation est déterminée par l'émetteur. Durée de vie qui oscille le plus souvent entre 3 et 10 ans.
  • La devise : bien que la plupart des émissions se font en Euros, une euro-obligation peut être émise dans toutes les devises possibles.
  • Le coupon: est l'intérêt périodique (souvent annuel), que l'investisseur va percevoir sur le nominal du montant investi.
  • Le prix de souscription: est le pourcentage de la valeur du nominal contre lequel l'obligation sur le "marché primaire" a été émise.

Exemple : Général Motors souhaite émettre une euro-obligation. Il sera alors convenu avec le banquier d'affaires que l'émission sur le marché primaire aura les caractéristiques suivantes:

  • Montant de l'émission: 150.000.000 Euros
  • Durée de vie: 7 ans
  • Devise: L'Euro
  • Coupon: 5,25%
  • Prix d'émission: 101%

Pendant une période déterminée appelée: "période de souscription" (souvent d'une durée de 4 à 6 semaines) les investisseurs peuvent souscrire ("souscription sur le marché primaire") à l'emprunt obligataire de Général Motors. Pour un investissement nominal de 10.000 Euros, l'investisseur devra payer 10.100 euros (101%). Pendant 7 ans cette obligation va à chaque date anniversaire du coupon produire une rente de 525 euros (5,25% de 10.000 euros) avant la déduction du précompte mobilier. A la date de maturité (après 7 ans) l'investisseur se voit rembourser son capital de 10.000 euros.


Le marché secondaire des euro-obligations.

Une fois la période de souscription de l'emprunt obligataire terminée, il n'est plus possible de souscrire au prix de souscription d'origine. L'obligation ne cote alors plus sur le "marché primaire".

Cela ne veut pas dire qu'un investisseur intéressé ne peut plus acheter cette obligation.

En effet, le lendemain de la fermeture de la période de souscription l'emprunt obligataire "déménage" du marché primaire vers le marché secondaire.

Le marché secondaire d'euro-obligations n'est rien d'autre qu'un marché d'obligations existantes. Sur ce marché, les vendeurs et acheteurs sont actifs en permanence.

C'est pourquoi, une formation de prix intervient en permanence. Un investisseur qui a acheté une obligation sur le marché primaire, peut en principe toujours la vendre sur le marché secondaire. L'investisseur actif peut se rendre sur le marché secondaire pour y acquérir des obligations cotées à un prix alléchant.

Contrairement au marché des actions, la plupart des transactions sur les euro-obligations n'a pas lieu via les bourses, mais directement entre les professionnels (banquiers, agent de change…).

Bien que souvent, les euro-obligations soient côtées en bourse, (le plus souvent à la bourse du Luxembourg) la plupart des transactions seront traitées OTC ("over the counter" entre professionnels) pour des raisons de liquidité limitée. Cela signifie qu'en opposition au marché des actions, le marché des eurobonds est un véritable marché de professionnels.

Keytrade Bank propose à ses clients l'accès à ce marché secondaire de professionnels via sa plateforme de trading Eurobonds.


Notions de base de l'investissement en euro-obligations

Pourquoi investir en obligation, à quel point un investissement en obligation est-il sûr, comment choisir une bonne obligation, à quoi dois-je faire attention,…?

Nous avons tenté de répondre à ces questions via les points qui suivent ci-dessous. Par là, nous espérons vous donner une première base de compréhension de l'investissement en obligation.

L'opposition : Risque et Rendement

Il va de soi que chaque investisseur souhaite constamment la combinaison impossible entre "haut niveau de sûreté" et "rendement élevé" pour tous ses investissements. Malheureusement, la plupart du temps, la sûreté ne se conjugue jamais avec un rendement élevé. Un rendement élevé va plus souvent de pair avec un haut niveau de risque. Cette règle universelle est d'application dans l'ensemble du monde financier, donc aussi sur le marché obligataire.

  • Qualité et Rating La qualité de l'émetteur s'exprime souvent par son "rating" qui donne une idée quant à sa solvabilité. Se pose alors la question : comment le détenteur d'obligation (l'investisseur) peut-il être sûr que l'émetteur va remplir tous ses engagements? En plus du paiement périodique des intérêts, l'émetteur doit être en mesure de rembourser le montant nominal de l'obligation à l'échéance. Il existe plus d'un "bureau de rating", qui poursuit le même but: juger de la solvabilité des émetteurs sur le marché obligataire. Les bureaux de rating les plus connus sont Standard&Poors (‘S&P') en Moody's.Après une analyse de fond des émetteurs, ces bureaux donnent un "crédit-rating", qui est une indication de la solvabilité de ces émetteurs.
empty-headerempty-header
Standard & Poor's
Moody's
AAA
Aaa
AA
Aa1 - Aa3
A
A1 - A3
BBB
Baa1 - Baa3
BB
Ba1 - Ba3
B
B1 - B3
CCC
Caa1 - Caa3
CC
Ca
C
C
D
N.R.
NR
Plus (+) or minus (-)
r

Si Standard&Poors attribue un "AAA"-rating à un émetteur, c'est alors une indication que cet émetteur est extrèmement solvable. L'équivalent du "AAA"-rating de Standard&Poors est le "Aaa"-rating de Moody's. Les obligations qui ont un rating plus bas que "BBB" (suivant le classement S&P) ou "Baa3" (selon Moody's) sont en général considérées comme spéculatives.

Il est évident qu'une obligation émise par un très bon débiteur (avec un rating haut, par ex. AA ou A2) produit un plus faible rendement qu'une obligation avec les mêmes caractéristiques, dont l'émetteur se trouve en difficulté financière (et qui à cause de cela par ex. a un rating B ou B2).

Il faut donc toujours faire attention aux ratings des obligations lorsqu'on compare les rendements.

  • La durée de vie Dans des circonstances normales du marché, une obligation à long terme donne un rendement supérieure à une obligation à court terme. Une obligation à long terme contient intrinsèquement un plus haut niveau de risque puisque l'avenir n'est jamais prévisible. La probabilité que l'émetteur connaisse une défaillance est évidemment plus importante lorsqu'elle s'étale sur une longue période.
  • La devise Certaines obligations peuvent présenter un rendement très attrayant, sans pour autant que cela soit nécessairement lié à l'existence d'un mauvais débiteur. La raison peut tout simplement être que l'obligation a été émise dans une devise à haut rendement. Mais, il ne faut pas perdre de vue que les cours de change évoluent et contiennent donc un risque. Si vous ne voulez prendre aucuns risques, investissez seulement en Euros. Le rendement d'une obligation émise en Euros est peut-être moindre que dans certaines autres devises (par ex. le forint hongrois), mais vous n'encourez aucun risque de change. Si vous souhaitez vraiment spéculer par exemple sur une hausse du dollar US, il sera alors intéressant d'acheter des obligations en dollars US.
  • Taux d'intérêt et coupon Le coupon est le paiement périodique des intérêts que vous recevez en temps que détenteur d'obligations. Habituellement, les euro-obligations paient un coupon fixe annuellement, mais le paiement de coupons semestriels ou trimestriels est aussi possible.Le montant du coupon est obtenu en multipliant le taux d'intérêt nominal par le montant nominal de l'obligation.Exemple: Une obligation à un taux d'intérêt nominal de 5,25% par an. Un investisseur achète 10.000 Euros et paie pour cela 10.400 Euro. Il va chaque année recevoir un coupon s'élevant à 5,25% de 10.000 Euros : 5,25% ´ 10.000 = 525 Euros.A côté des obligations à taux fixe, il existe également des obligations à taux flottant. Le taux d'intérêt de ces obligations est modifié périodiquement durant toute la durée de vie de l'obligation (souvent l'intérêt est trimestriellement réajusté). Souvent, des "taux flottant" sont liés à un taux d'intérêt de référence, tel que le taux Euribor. Ces obligations sont aussi souvent appelées dans le jargon 'Floating Rate Notes'.Exemple: un 'Floating Rate Note' a une durée de vie de 4 ans et paie un coupon trimestriel qui est lié à l'Euribor 3 mois + 0,50%.Il existe encore ce qu'on appelle "les obligations à coupon zero" ou les "zerobonds". Comme le nom le laisse penser, ces obligations ne paient pas de coupons périodiques. Cela ne signifie pas du tout qu'un investissement dans un "zerobond" sera inintéressant. En effet, la caractéristique d'un "zerobond" est que cette obligation a été émise "en dessous du pair". Ceci veut dire que si un investisseur achète un "zerobond", il paiera moins que la somme correspondant au remboursement de l'obligation. Son bénéfice est formé par la différence entre le remboursement de l'obligation (souvent 100% du montant nominal) et le prix que l'investisseur a payé.Exemple: un "zerobond" a une durée de vie de 5 ans et cote à 75%. Le remboursement est de 100%. L'investisseur ne va pas recevoir de coupons pendant 5 ans, mais son investissement à 75% sera après 5 ans remboursé à 100%.
  • Prix et rendement Dans l'exemple présenté ci-dessus, l'investisseur reçoit un coupon annuel de 5.25%. Ce coupon est calculé sur le montant nominal de l'obligation qu'il a acheté (10.000 Euros) et non pas sur le prix qu'il a payé (10.400 Euros).Par conséquent, le rendement que l'investisseur obtient sur son investissement est moins important que du 5,25% ! Son "rendement direct" s'élève seulement à 525/10.400 = 5,05% Donc : au plus haut est le prix d'une obligation, au plus bas sera son rendement.Les investisseurs professionnels n'utilisent quasi jamais la notion de "rendement direct" mais bien ce qu'on appelle le "rendement actuariel".Le rendement actuariel est le rendement sur base annuelle d'une obligation qui ne tient pas seulement compte du coupon, mais aussi d'autres éléments tel que, la date du coupon, l'échéance, le prix actuel et le remboursement de l'obligation. Reprenons l'exemple de ci-dessus. Supposons que l'investisseur ait acheté cette obligation juste un an avant l'échéance. Il aurait donc payé 104% (10 400EUR pour 10 000EUR de nominal) et il sera remboursé après un an à 100% (soit 10 000EUR ). Après un an, l'investisseur fait ses comptes : il recevra un coupon de 5,25% mais il perdra 4% sur son investissement ( il a acheté à 104% et est remboursé à 100%). Son rendement net s'élève donc seulement à 1,25%. Supposons maintenant que l'investisseur ait acheté cette obligation juste 2 ans avant l'échéance, également à 104%. A terme, l'investisseur fait à nouveau ses comptes : il reçoit 2 coupons de 5,25%, soit 10,50%, et il perd 4% sur investissement. Après deux ans, il a donc un rendement net de 10,50% - 4% = 6,50%, soit environ 3,25% par an.Ce modèle de calcul du rendement donne une image plus précise du rendement réel d'un investissement en obligation que le simple "rendement direct". Les professionnels calculent ce rendement réel avec des techniques de mathématique actuarielle (l'exemple ci-dessus est fortement simplifié !). C'est pourquoi on parle de "rendement actuariel".
  • Formes particulières de remboursement La plupart des obligations sont habituellement remboursées en espèces à la valeur nominale. Mais ceci n'est pas toujours le cas. Certaines obligations sont automatiquement remboursées en actions, dans d'autres cas, l'investisseur à le choix d'être remboursé à l'échéance soit en actions, soit en espèces. Dans un autre cas encore, le remboursement de l'obligation est lié à un indice boursier.
  • Garanties/hiérarchie Il est généralement reconnu que les obligations sont des investissements raisonnablement sûrs. Le risque qu'une obligation d'un bon émetteur ne soit pas remboursée est raisonablement faible. Dans le cas d'un émetteur qui tombe en faillite, il existe un ordre dans lequel les créanciers de cet émetteur seront remboursés. Les créanciers privilégiés seront remboursés prioritairement (par ex. l'Etat, les créanciers hypothécaires…). Ensuite, seront remboursés les créanciers chirographaires (la plupart des détenteurs d'obligations se situent dans ce groupe). En dernier, viendront les créanciers placés en dernier rang (les actionnaires, les détenteurs d'obligations subordonées…). Avant d'acheter une obligation, il est donc primordial que les garanties et la hiérarchie des obligations en cas de faillite soient prédéterminées
    • Garanties :
      • A l'inverse des "secured bonds", "les unsecured bonds" sont émis sans garantie spécifique.
      • Dans le cas des multinational, l'émission d'une obligation est souvent garantie par la société mère ("Company Guarantee" ou s'il s'agit d'un groupe bancaire "Bank Guarantee")
      • Certaines émissions d'obligations sont "asset backed": cela signifie qu'un fond spécifique est bloqué pour garantir le remboursement de l'obligation.
    • Hiérarchie:
      • Un "subordinated bond" (obligation subordonnée) est, en cas de faillite, payé après tous les autres détenteurs d'obligations, mais juste avant les actionnaires.
      • Un "senior bond" est une obligation commune, qui ne se situe pas en dernière position et donc plus sûr qu'un "subordinated bond".
  • Intérêts échus La plupart des eurobonds paient un coupon annuel. Pour chaque jour où l'investisseur détient une obligation, il reçoit en principe 1/365ième de ce coupon annuel.Supposons maintenant que l'investisseur achète une obligation sur un marché secondaire, et que cette obligation paiera son coupon annuel dans 7 mois. Autrement dit : depuis le paiement du dernier coupon, 5 mois se sont écoulés. Cette obligation a donc déjà produit 5 mois d'intérêts échus. Ces intérêts doivent revenir au vendeur de cette obligation. L'acheteur de l'obligation devra donc payer ces intérêts. L'acheteur recevra bien à la date de paiement du coupon (dans les 7 mois), l'intégralité du coupon.Les intérêts échus sont calculés en opérant une fraction sur le montant du coupon: le numérateur de cette fraction est égal au nombre de jours d'intérêts échus, et le dénominateur correspond au nombre de jours dans une année. Cette fraction (qu'on appèle aussi l'"accrual bassis") peut être différente d'une obligation à l'autre. Les "accrual basis" les plus courantes sont :
    • ACT/ACT : le numérateur correspond au nombre de jours effectifs entre la date du dernier paiement du coupon et la date valeur de celui-ci. Le dénominateur correspond au nombre de jours effectifs dans une année (365 ou 366).
    • ACT/360 : le numérateur correspond au nombre de jours effectifs entre la date du dernier paiement du coupon et la date valeur de celui-ci. Le dénominateur est déterminé sur une base de 360 jours.
    • 30/360 : il est convenu que chaque mois compte 30 jours
    Exemple: Une obligation a les caractéristiques suivantes :
    • Le dernier coupon a été payé le 23 février 2003
    • Le coupon s'élève à 6% par an
    • L'« accrual base » est ACT/ACT
    Un investisseur achète 10.000 Euro de cette obligation à la date valeur du 19 septembre 2003. Le nombre exacte de jours entre le 23/02/03 et le 19/09/03 est de 208. Le vendeur de l'obligation a donc droit à 6% x 10.000 x 208/365 = 341,92 Euros au titre d'intérêts écoulés. L'acheteur devra donc payer cette somme au vendeur. L'acheteur recevra bien l'entièreté du coupon au 23/2/2004 (la date de paiement du coupon suivant).

En acceptant notre utilisation des cookies, vous nous permettez de vous assurer une meilleure expérience de notre site, à la fois plus rapide, plus personnalisée et plus sécurisée. Vous pouvez modifier à tout moment ces paramètres dans votre navigateur.