Wat is de "US witholding tax on options" ?

As a consequence of a change of US tax law, withholding tax may in certain cases, from 1/1/2017 on, be levied on dividends paid by the underlying US stock of the option.

What is the 'US witholding tax on options'?

Non US residents pay 30%/15% US withholding tax on the payment of a dividend from US source. The US tax authority IRS has noted that foreign investors often avoid taxes by buying options on US stocks. As a consequence of a change of US tax law, withholding tax may in certain cases, from 1/1/2017 on, be levied on dividends paid by the underlying US stock of the option.

In which cases will I have to pay withholding taxes?

The US withholding tax is payable on the dividend paid out by the underlying US stock of the option if the delta of the option is 1 or more at the time of purchase of the option.

If you have bought the option when the delta is 0.9, and the delta is 1 at the time of payment of the dividend, you will not have to pay any withholding tax. It is the delta at the time of the purchase that counts. If you buy an option with a delta 1 and you sell this option before the underlying US stock pays out a dividend, you don’t pay any withholding tax.

By accepting our use of cookies, you allow us to improve your experience on our website, so that it is faster, more personalised and more secure. You can change the cookie settings in your browser at any time. Find out more about cookies.

Qu'est-ce que la «US witholding tax on options»?

A la suite d’une modification de la législation fiscale américaine une retenue à la source pourrait, à partir du 1/1/2017, être prélevée dans certains cas sur les dividendes distribués par l’action américaine sous-jacente de l’option.

Qu'est-ce que la «US witholding tax on options»?

Les non-résidents US paient 30% /15% de retenue à la source sur le paiement d'un dividende d’origine américaine. L’autorité fiscale américaine IRS a noté que les investisseurs étrangers évitent souvent cette retenue à la source en achetant des options sur actions américaines. A la suite d’une modification de la législation fiscale américaine une retenue à la source pourrait, à partir du 1/1/2017, être prélevée dans certains cas sur les dividendes distribués par l’action américaine sous-jacente de l’option.

Quand y aura-t-il une retenue à la source ?

La retenue à la source américaine est due sur le dividende payé par l’action américaine sous-jacente de l’option si le delta de l'option est de 1 ou plus au moment de l'achat de l'option.

Si vous achetez l’option quand le delta est de 0,9, et le delta est de 1 au moment du paiement du dividende, vous ne payez pas de retenue à la source. C’est le delta au moment de l'achat qui compte. Si vous achetez une option avec un delta de 1 et vous vendez cette option avant que l’action américaine sous-jacente distribue un dividende, vous ne payez pas de retenue à la source.

En acceptant notre utilisation des cookies, vous nous permettez de vous assurer une meilleure expérience de notre site, à la fois plus rapide, plus personnalisée et plus sécurisée. Vous pouvez modifier à tout moment ces paramètres dans votre navigateur.